The Colors of the Presidents of the United States

“I heard that there haven’t been any Blue Presidents of the United States. Is that true?” — Dan Hall, Assembly Line Worker, Elk Grove Village, IL

Dr. David W. Keirsey, a behavioral psychologist who has spent decades studying human personality, wrote in Presidential Temperament: The Unfolding of Character in the Presidents of the United States that there has never been a President of the United States that has had a primary color of Blue. One of the reasons for this is that most Blues shy away from positions of leadership where they are forced to constantly compromise, conciliate, and make decisions that inevitably offend large groups of people.

Below is a list of the U.S. Presidents and their primary colors as determined by biographers and personality specialists.

The White House LogoGREEN: John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, John Q Adams, Abraham Lincoln, Ulysses Grant, Herbert Hoover, Dwight Eisenhower, Barack Obama

GOLD: George Washington, James Monroe, Benjamin Harrison, John Tyler, James Polk, Millard Fillmore, James Buchanan, Andrew Johnson, Rutherford Hayes, Grover Cleveland, Benjamin Harrison, Grover Cleveland, William McKinley, William Taft, Woodrow Wilson, Calvin Coolidge, Harry Truman, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, George HW Bush, George W Bush

ORANGE: Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, Zachary Taylor, Franklin Pierce, James Garfield, Chester Arthur, Theodore Roosevelt, Warren Harding, Franklin Roosevelt, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, Ronald Reagan, Bill Clinton